Sibelius and Mendelssohn

Alexandra Conunova, violin
David Danzmayr, conductor

Praised for her vivid tone, rising star violinist Alexandra Conunova makes her U.S. debut performing Sibelius’ expressive Violin Concerto. The evening opens with Webern’s beautiful orchestration of Schubert’s German Dances, and closes with works by the great composers of the Romantic era—Grieg’s Elegiac Melody, and Mendelssohn’s powerful Reformation Symphony.

Schubert/Webern – German Dances
Sibelius – Violin Concerto in D minor
Grieg – One Elegiac Melody, “The Last Spring”
Mendelssohn – Symphony No. 5 in D Major, “Reformation”